I Cried…A Lot

I’ve always been a fan of period pieces. Something about women in old fashioned dress just strikes me as beautiful. And while I don’t really care for war books and movies from the soldier’s perspective so much…I’ve always liked reading about the home front. I find that battle much more interesting.

wpid-img_20140908_075850.jpg

Cold Mountain is one of my favorite such stories. It follows a Charleston belle as she learns to live in the southern mountain country, right before the Civil War hits. Then she struggles to survive through the terrible hardships brought about by the war.

I watched the movie for this first, over and over and over and over again. It’s one of my favorites. I finally got the book this year and the prose is just beautiful. I’m not ashamed to say I cry during this one. You will too.

 

(And I may have cried real tears at the fact that the stupid book store put a clearance sticker over Renee Zellweger’s head. @#(*$. Why do they DO that?!)

3 thoughts on “I Cried…A Lot

  1. Great choice for today! I think mine will be a stereotype, but it’s the truth! I haven’t read ‘Cold Mountain’ but I did see the movie.
    As someone who used to put stickers on books (grated, textbook rental barcodes), sometimes it makes a terrible job suck less. 🙂

Leave a Reply

