Slaughterhouse-Five

Ever have a book where at the end you just say, “Oh thank GOD that’s over!” Yep. That was this book. Seriously, can someone explain to me what I just read, because I have absolutely no idea. This might be as bad as James Joyce…except I was reading it for Book Club, so I had to finish it. And somehow discuss it. God help me.

4981

This is not going to be an intelligent review folks. Because I’m seriously confused.

There are two ways of thinking that I have for Billy:

1. The book is a Sci-Fi novel and he really did get abducted and really can time-travel around. However, if that’s the case, I think it’s horribly done. There are absolutely no transitions to guide the reader from the alien parts and back to WWII and then “present-day.” It just jumps all over the place. Give me a tesseract or something with which to make sense of the time-space continuum.

2. Billy has severe PTSD and has suffered a complete schizophrenic breakdown, in which the aliens are his way of dealing with the war. That would explain the lack of transitions, because there probably wouldn’t be any transitions in his world either.

Ok, that’s as far as I’ve gotten. I’m curious to see what ya’ll have to say about this one. I know this is a hugely popular novel…it just was not for me. Vonnegut and I do not speak the same language.

2 thoughts on “Slaughterhouse-Five

  1. Funny enough, I was left with that exact same impression of slaughterhouse 5, I finished it and shook my head and was confused. I didn’t find it interesting either, and I like both sci-fi AND war stories. In fact, war novels are probably my favourite genre. But not this book. Interesting to read your opinions – and glad to see I wasn’t the only one.

  2. Pingback: When Are You Reading? | As I Lay Reading

Leave a Reply

