An Open Letter to James Joyce

I am sharing this Open Letter, as this is exactly how I felt when I tried to read Ulysses. I’m not sure I got much further than Allex did before I had to give it up. I may try again later, but for now, sorry Joyce, I just can’t hack it.

Librocubicularist

Dear James Joyce,

I don’t really know how I would start this letter because I am neither that big a fan of your work, nor that interested in how you are these days — mostly because you are very much so dead.  So I guess the best way to do this is to just dive right in.

I’ve been attempting to read your “legendary” novel, Ulysses, for the past month and let me tell you something: it isn’t going well.  Now, I consider myself to be a very capable reader.  I can understand and break down themes, hidden metaphors, and unreliable narrators.  I have read my fair share of classic literary works and I usually only have a few bad things to say about them.

I have even read Homer’s The Odyssey, the work you based this door-stopper of a novel, a couple of times.  When I was in college, my…

View original post 589 more words

Leave a Reply

