A Wrinkle in Time

When I was in fourth grade, I both loved and hated story time. I loved it because, of course, it involved books, and what else is more wonderful than that? Fourth grade also meant long division…which was the worst thing ever. Story time was way better than long division.

However, we usually only read one or two chapters at a time, and I wanted to grab the book and read the whole thing in one sitting. Listening to someone read a book that slowly to me was cruel and unusual punishment. It still is–that’s why I don’t listen to audiobooks unless I’m doing something productive.

I vaguely remember reading Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time back then, but only pieces of it seemed familiar. I remembered Mrs. Whatsit, and the image of the Sameness houses all in a line with the clumsy boy who dropped the ball. Other than that, everything in this read through was new to me.

18131

After just finishing Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy recently, the themes in this sci-fi young adult fiction novel stuck out like a sore thumb. However, I wasn’t a huge fan of it. Sci-Fi really just isn’t my thing, I guess. I wanted to like it, but it just isn’t believable to me, and I find it strange and awkward. The IT seemed like the GREAT AND POWERFUL OZ, only it wasn’t so great and powerful. It was just mean and robotic. Charles was supposed to be “special,” but was taken in pretty damn easily. And I really didn’t understand what Calvin was supposed to be at all. He was somewhere between normal and Charles’s breed of special too? I think the roles needed to be more clearly defined.

What really got me though, was that the plot built and built and built, and then BOOM. Ending. We get 3 pages of Meg on IT and then poof they are back at home, with no real time to breathe. I’m not even sure how that even happened. There’s no, “Oh, the brain is dead, here’s what happened to Camazotz.” I mean, what happens to that whole planet now that their brain is destroyed? Or did she even kill it? We don’t really know, because they get whisked away so fast.

Maybe I’m overthinking a children’s book, but there are a lot of questions I need answered at the end of this one. Is there a fandom for A Wrinkle in Time? I bet there are a bunch of theories and ships and canons we could come up with!

 

One thought on “A Wrinkle in Time

  1. Pingback: When Are You Reading? | As I Lay Reading

Leave a Reply

