Treesofreverie’s April Read-A-Thon: Questionnaire

01. What do you plan on reading for the Read-A-Thon? Why did you choose these books? I’m starting with Wuthering Heights, and Wrinkle in Time. I have been wanting to read WH forever, and I need to read WIT for a book club next week. Then I’ll move on to other classics from there.

02. Where will you be sharing your bookish updates for Treesofreverie’s April Read-A-Thon? I will be sharing them here on my blog, ilayreading.wordpress.com.

03. Are you currently taking part in any other reading challenges for 2014? I finished my Goodreads challenge WAY early for the year. Oops. So now I’m just pushing myself to read as much as possible and as thoroughly as possible. We’ll see what other challenges come up.

04. Do you have any reading goals? What are you hoping to achieve? My main goal for the year is just to learn as much as possible. I’m journaling more and reading harder books than I ever have. I’m also reading classics that I never have read.

05. Are you from a family of readers? Most of my family reads, but I definitely read more than anyone else.

06. Do many of your friends read? Some do, but I also have a lot of movie buffs for friends, including my husband.

07. What or who inspired your reading as a child? I think I was born reading. But I remember sitting on my Nana’s lap with a book. And there were always books in the house.

08. Are there any books you wish you got to read when you were younger? I wish we would have read more classics in school. There are so many books I feel I should have read already.

09. What are your favourite genres? Novels and Memoirs. I recently got into dystopian fiction.

10. What are your favourite books? Pride & Prejudice, Secret Garden, and Thorn Birds.

11. Do you like to re-read your favourite books? Those three I have reread a million times, it seems. But other than that I don’t usually reread anything. There are too many new books to read!

12. Who are your favourite authors? Jane Austen and Ann Patchett

13. What would you do if you got to meet your favourite author? Probably clam up and just listen.

14. What defines a great book for you? I want to be able to disappear in the story. If I don’t know what is going on around me…it’s probably a good one.

15. What draws you to pick up a book you’ve never seen or heard of before? Honestly…the cover. Can’t help it. If it draws my eye, I’m going to pick it up.

16. Do you judge a book by its cover? See #15. I love the touch and feel of a good book. And the titles too.

17. Once you’ve finished reading a book do you like to keep it or give it away? Keep it! I want to have a huge library someday.

18. Do you prefer paperbacks or hardcover? Hardcover.

19. How many books do you own? How many of these books have you read? I had to sell a lot of my books a few years ago for money. Sigh…so now my collection is starting over. I only have about a hundred or so. I’ve read most of them.

20. Do you like to borrow or lend out books to others? I’m hesitant to do so, I rarely get them back.

21. Do you like to recommend books? Which books do you recommend most often? I am always pleased when someone actually reads something I have suggested. However, it’s sometimes hard for me to recommend books because I have such eclectic tastes.

22. Where do you buy your books? I like Half-Price, but I really prefer new books. Usually Barnes & Noble. I love their new Classics Collection.

23. What would your ultimate dream bookstore be like? Cozy and warm. Maybe a fireplace with couches. And beer/wine in the back.

24. Which genres would you like to read more of? Um. Everything!

25. Do you read books by indie or self-published authors? Not usually. Mostly just because I have such a long list of published authors to read, I don’t stray from the list often.

26. Do you read books by authors residing in your own country?  I read from everywhere.

27. Do you have a TBR Jar? I am not sure what this is.

28. Do you like to keep a record of your reading – in a reading journal, collecting quotes, writing down thoughts, etc.? I keep a daily journal, and it is filled with quotes and thoughts about the books I read.

29. If you dislike a book, do you finish reading it? It depends on the book. If I just can’t connect with it in the first 25-50 pages, I usually set it aside, but if it is a classic or something I feel is an important work, I try to finish it.

30. Do you own an eReader? I have a Kindle Paperwhite.

31. What are your thoughts on eBooks? I love ebooks for the convenience. I read them on my Paperwhite, my phone, and even my computer sometimes. I can get them for free using Overdrive, and because I read faster than I can afford to buy new books, this is a good way for me to feed my addiction. It is also convenient—books are heavy and I can carry my Kindle easier than I can carry 3 books in a suitcase when I travel. But, my Kindle will never replace my love for paperbound books. It doesn’t smell like a real book, or look like a library full of hardbacks.

32. Do you listen to audio books? Sometimes.
33. What are your thoughts on audio books? I have to be doing something to listen to an audiobook. I play one when I’m walking or doing chores. I usually save the books that I’ve tried to read and failed—like Red Badge of Courage (because of the strong accents in written word) or Anna Karenina (because of the astronomical length).

34. Do you have a book blog? I do! Ilayreading.wordpress.com I’m going to be posting my readathon updates here.

35. Who are your favourite book bloggers? I’m new to the book blogging community, but I like TreesofReverie, aliteraryescape, freakofliterature, and athousandbookstoread.

36. Do you write book reviews? Yep. See 34.

37. Do you use any book-orientated social media sites such as Goodreads? I LOVE Goodreads. https://www.goodreads.com/hmills96

38. Have you discovered any of your favourite books or authors through social media sites? I am always looking at other people’s recommendations and my To Read list is always growing. I’ll never read them all!

39. Have you ever attended a book signing or an author event? No.

40. Have you ever won a book giveaway? Nope.

 

Leave a Reply

