The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

The only thing I can think of to say right now is…WHAT THE HECK DID I JUST READ?!?!?!?!?! Short answer:  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams 11 Long answer: That was the most bizarre book I think I’ve ever read. It definitely is not one I normally would have picked up. However, it is on the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list, which I am trying to work through. I knew I’d have to hit it eventually. And then, the new bookstore/brewery (I know right…it’s a really fantastic concept) announced the book clubs they are going to be doing on Mondays, and this book was one of the ones they were starting with. I’m not sure if I will go to the Sci/Fi club night, but I figured I’d at least read the book. All in all, this was a pleasant read, albeit strange. I can’t say there was anything I related to AT ALL in the characters, but it was comical. I couldn’t help but write down several of the weird things said in my journal today. I posted a quote earlier today about the Vogons. “Evolution? Who needs it?” I can see how this has a cult following–and I’m sure the movie is hysterical. What do they call fans of this? Hitchhiker’s?

2 thoughts on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

  1. Pingback: Goodreads Challenge | As I Lay Reading

  2. Pingback: When Are You Reading? | As I Lay Reading

Leave a Reply

